Established in 1812, Ross became a safe haven for travellers between Hobart and Launceston, providing protection from bushrangers.
The bridge itself dates back to 1836 and is the third oldest bridge in Australia. Two convict stonemasons were granted pardons for their efforts.
Unfortunately, the delightful old pub has just closed its doors within the last two weeks; the owners going into liquidation. Sadly this has been an all too common feel amongst the island state. Many places are up for sale and unemployment is higher than the mainland. The locals are hopeful that a new owner will be found for the now abandoned pub, hoping to inject life back into the township.
Walking through to the edge of the town, the Ross Female Factory emerges from its archaeological digs. It lays claim to being one of only two female convict prisons in Tasmania.
Leaving Ross, we travelled further north towards the 1838 Clarendon Homestead outside Evandale. Glimpses through the trees revealed such an amazingly stately manor that remained just that, a glimpse in the winter months!
Travelling further north towards Launceston, we took a detour to the Lavender Farm. Whilst not in bloom, an impression was still made. Particularly by Coco the resident kitten who took a shine to Lily, which was understandably reciprocated.
The time had come for us to find our next bed for the night in central Launceston.
Staying in the centre of Launceston enable us to get a feel for the city straight away. Taking a short stroll from our hotel we came across a lovely city park complete with children’s playground. With a swing and play gym under our belt, we set out to explore a little more. As dark approached, and weary legs started to complain, we headed back to the cosy bar of the hotel. Tomorrow we would venture further.